James Robertson

James joined Consult Australia in July 2018, bringing with him policy experience across a number of sectors. In October 2020 he became VIC Manager (in addition to his role as Policy Lead).

Prior to joining the team, James was the policy manager at Consult Australia’s sister association in the UK where he was responsible for developing policy positions on key issues affecting the built and natural environment. James also has a background in the Australian Public Service and in consulting, having previously worked in transport, infrastructure, security and health policy areas. James is a cricket fan in his spare time.



For more information about any of our policy activities in Victoria, contact James at:

e: james@consultaustralia.com.au


For more information about any of our events in Victoria, please contact our events and marketing team:

e: vic@consultaustralia.com.au

p: 02 8252 6700

Upcoming VIC events

View events

Advocacy in Vic


What the VIC Committee does

The VIC Committee gives members the opportunity to develop strategies to tackle local issues as well as contribute to the national agenda. Committee participants are often called upon to represent Consult Australia in local engagement activities (including meetings with government agencies etc). The VIC Committee meets monthly and requires engaged individuals.

Latest 'top 3 takeaways'

The 'top 3 takeaways' summarise key issues discussed at the last meeting. These are to help the broader membership understand the activities of the VIC Committee.

  1. Securing Events. The Committee wanted to ensure that events were secured right up til the end of the year.
  2. Seeking Boardroom Lunch with Treasurer. The Committee is keen to have a boardroom lunch with the Treasurer pre-Budget.
  3. SME Relevance. The Committee is committed to ensuring everything they do for Consult Australia (advocacy and events) has relevance for the SME members.
Current participants

Below is the list of current VIC Committee participants. Want to get involved? Contact James Robertson.

NameMember Business
Rachel Nicholls (Chair) Arup
David Collett (Deputy Chair)SMEC
Amy Child AECOM
Andrew BethuneArcadis
Angus Leitch Aurecon
Matt Turinski Beca
Derek HeidenBG&E
Iris Stewart Cardno
Martin GambleGamcorp
Rodd MickelsonGHD
Andrew Russell Golder 
Emilio De PaulisJacobs
Melissa Griffith KBR

What the FutureNet VIC Committee does

The FutureNet VIC Committee gives young professionals the opportunity to design and run engaging social and educational events that allow their peers to develop valuable networks. The Committee is open to members and non-members. The FutureNet VIC Committee meets monthly and requires engaged individuals willing to create and deliver engaging events.

Current participants

Below is the list of current FutureNet VIC Committee participants. Want to get involved? Contact vic@consultaustralia.com.au.

Alexandra O’Brien (Chair)Department of Transport
Nichelle Naluz (Deputy Chair)KBR
Anita WongAdvisian
Caitie McClellandAECOM
Olivia RoslaniecAllens Lawyers
Jonathon BurrowsApproach Consulting
Sanit VaghelaArup
Dominica WattAurecon
Natasha NeeveBeca
Cameron MasonColin Biggers & Paisley
Ryan CottierGHD
Coen RomalisGolder
Madeline RichardGolder
Priyanka ChananaJacobs
Mikaela VellaJacobs
Chris NikcevichKBR
Olivia NesciSMEC
Anthony NguyenWG
Anif IslamWSP
FutureNet Professional Development Series
cbp cbus

More information

If you would like to find out more about the activities in VIC or to join one of the committees, please contact us on: vic@consultaustralia.com.au.